Click on the "Cancel Subscription" link, but that won't totally deactivate the account yet.Sign in one last time, and then visit the account deactivation link.If you use the Zoosk app on a social network like Facebook, removing it doesn't cancel your subscription or your account, you have to go to the main site at

I'm not talking about paywalls—I mean the sites that make you give them personal information to look at free articles or forum threads.

Most people are uncomfortable with this because a lot of these sites either spam you themselves, or sell your information to someone else who will.

Sometimes, though, you can't find what you're looking for anywhere else and you're desperate enough to actually hand over your email address.

You can still sign in until the end of your subscription term, however.

Once you've found a new love, just make sure to hide that profile. keeps your data in storage even if it's not accessible to others "for historical and legal purposes only." Plenty Of Fish Straight to the point, Plenty Of Fish lets you stop casting a net utterly and permanently when you visit the Delete account page. OKCupid The deletion of an OKCupid account is easy.

Visit your account page to just disable the account, so your profile is inactive and all communication from OKCupid ceases, or do a "full" delete so that the info is permanently and irreversibly dumped. That is never freed up again, so no one else can use it to make a new account and pretend they're you.

Zoosk If you signed up for Zoosk but want out, go to your Zoosk Settings page.

Dating Sites e Harmony If you paid recently for e Harmony and want a refund of some money, call them at 877-904-4810, Monday to Friday, 6 a.m. If you're a paid member and don't want to renew, hit the same page.

Go to your Account Settings and select the Change/Cancel Membership page.

Look for Subscription Status and click either "Cancel My Subscription" (so you don't pay anymore, but your matches stay accessible) or "Close Account." If you're trying Match.com's free trial and don't want to continue, you can resign your subscription.

If you don't want or expect a refund, you can quit the service by accessing your membership page on the site and selecting My Settings and then Account Settings.